Ticket #164 (new Feature Request)

Opened 11 years ago

Last modified 11 years ago

Allow "deleting" a user

Reported by: benoitg Owned by:
Priority: normal Milestone: WifiDog Auth Server 1.1
Component: Auth server, Authentication, permissions and access control Version: Auth Server SVN
Keywords: Cc:

Description (last modified by benoitg) (diff)

Actually deleting all traces of a user is seldom desirable, as it would skew all statistics over time (including network usage, growth, etc.) The proper way to do this is to hash the email adress so it cannot be reconstructed, delete the profile and similar information, set the status to deleted and then:

  • If a new user sign's up with the same email (hash matches), reactivate the account (in validation) instead of creating a new one.
  • Write special case code so that deleted users are ignored where appropriate, and displayed differently in statistics.

This will allow someone to close an account it doesn't want, yet not allow him to abuse this feature to commit abuse.

Change History

Changed 11 years ago by benoitg

  • priority changed from low to normal
  • summary changed from Allow completely deleting a node to Allow "deleting" a user
  • description modified (diff)
  • milestone changed from WifiDog Auth Server 2.0 to WifiDog Auth Server 1.1

Changed 11 years ago by max-horvath

  • version set to Auth Server SVN

Changed 11 years ago by benoitg

  • component changed from Auth server: Features to Auth server, Authentication
  • description modified (diff)
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.